Serving The Surveying Community in Washington

Land Surveyors' Association of Washington (LSAW)

is a professional organization representing over 1500 individuals practicing in the various disciplines of surveying. LSAW provides a means to keep our members informed of changes in laws, regulations, and rapidly changing technology. We work together to protect the principles and practices upon which surveying was founded.

LSAW Lifetime Achievement

The following members have been awarded the lifetime achievement award.

Jim Coan
Leroy Middleton
Mike Mickiewicz
John Thalacker
Larry Signani

LSAW Life Vested Members

The following members have been granted life vested membership in LSAW.

Victor Banks
John Barbieri
Patrick Beehler
Jerry Broadus
Dennis DeMeyer
Howard Espeseth
Kenneth Frazier
Melvin Garland
Steven Ivey
Timothy Kent
Robert McGinnis
Carla Meritt
Jerry Olson
Ben Petersen
Robert Scholes
Donald Semrau
Lawrence Signani
Darrell Sorenson
Scott Valentine
Jon Warren

LSAW Historical Society

The LSAW Historical Society is dedicated to the preservation of surveying history and artifacts. Our goal is to increase public knowledge, understanding, and appreciation of our surveying history.

Membership to the Historical Society requires being a member of the Land Surveyors' Association of Washington. In addition, Historical Society members must pay annual dues.

Click here for more information

LSAW Honor Roll


Past Presidents

The Land Surveyors' Association annually chooses one individual to represent the Association as it's President. The duties of president are many and varied and require the commitment of much time and effort to both the association and the profession. The LSAW honors those who have made this contribution. (d) = deceased

2023 Tony Chenier
2022 Christopher Jepson
2021 Jeffrey S. Lynch
2020 Donald J.Wieber
2019 Kathryn C. Schalk
2018 Weston Dorszynski
2017 Carla Meritt
2016 John R. Christensen
2015 Michael A. McEvilly
2014 Earl Morriss
2013 James A. Coan, Sr. (d)
2012 John E. Thomas (d)
2011 Bryan L. Thorp
2010 Mick N. Sprouffske, Jr.
2009 Scott L. Thomas
2008 Ben V. Petersen
2007 James A. Main
2006 Kenneth W. Swindaman
2005 Greg E. Flowers
2004 Brent L. Johnston
2003 Gary M. Gervelis
2002 Robert L. Stratton
2001 R. William Glassey
2000 James Wengler
1999 Walter O. Dale
1998 Patrick J. Beehler
1997 Larry A. Signani
1996 Donald R. Dunsmore
1995 Louie W. Wishert Jr. (d)
1994 Kenneth L. Frazier
1993 Jon P. Warren
1992 Melvin F. Garland
1991 Steven D. Johnson (d)
1990 Darrell R. Sorenson
1989 Scott Valentine
1988 Michael G. Mickiewicz (d)
1986 John L. Abenroth (d)
1985 William E. Thompson III
1984 James J. Pahl (d)
1983 Daniel E. Beardslee
1982 Douglas Dodds (d)
1981 John L. Thalacker (d)
1980 James F. Benthin (d)
1979 Robert D'Esting Cray (d)
1978 Albert Hebrank Jr. (d)
1977 Daniel B. Clark
1976 James E. Wilson (d)
1975 James E. Barrom (d)
1974 Harold C. Lacy (d)
1973 Derwin K. Roupe (d)
1972 Jack A. Thorp (d)
1971 Warren F. Kroger (d)
1970 Theodore S. "Pat" Pattison (d)
1969 Fred B. Snelgrove (d)
1968 Ralph E. Flagan (d)
1967 Robert W. Jones (d)
1966 John L. "Jack" Bracy (d)
1965 Donald H. Haines (d)
1964 Fred F. Lawrence (d)
1963 Thomas V. Kidwell (d)
1962 Leroy F. Middleton
1961 Richard L. Stuhr (d)
1960 Richard L. Stuhr (d)
1959 Wilfred L. Webb (d)
1958 Hugh G. Goldsmith (d)
1957 JohnO. Johnson (d)
1956 James M. McDuffee (d)
1955 Lowell M. "Pat" Palmerton (d)
1954 Paul A. Williams (d)
1953 Donald H. Haines (d)
1952 Allen Hitchings (d)

Outstanding Surveyor

The title "Outstanding Surveyor" is awarded to the one individual who, by assessment of his or her peers, has contributed the most to the surveying profession as a whole over the past 5 years. Recipients are honored at the Annual LSAW Banquet. (formerly named Surveyor of the Year)

2023 Paul Galli
2022 Gregory C. Brooks
2021 Aaron Blaisdell
2020 Lynee Forsyth
2018 Tom Barger
2016 Tim Kent
2015 Carla Meritt
2014 Ronald Torrence
2013 Jon Purnell
2012 Martin Paquette
2011 Amanda Askren
2010 James A. Coan
2009 Victor J. Banks
2008 Gavin M. Schrock
2007 Ben V. Petersen
2006 James Wengler
2005 Kenneth W. Swindaman
2004 Gary Gervelis
2003 Dave Steele
2002 R. William Glassey
2001 Michael G. Mickiewicz
2000 Steven B. Ivey
1999 Melvin F. Garland
1998 Timothy A. Kent
1997 David A. Berg
1996 Timothy A. Kent
1995 John L. Abenroth
1994 Patrick J. Beehler
1993 Walter O. Dale
1992 Jerry Broadus
1991 Jon Warren
1990 Richard Larson
1989 Larry Signani
1988 Scott Valentine
1987 William Thompson III
1986 Jerry Olson
1985 Dennis DeMeyer
1984 Steven Johnson
1983 John Thalacker
1982 Robert Cray
1981 Albert Hebrank Jr.
1980 C.V. 'Vic' Payne
1979 Daniel O'Shea
1978 John Erickson
1977 Leroy Middleton
1976 Darrell Sorenson

Associate Surveyor of the Year

The title "Associate Surveyor of the Year" is awarded annually to the one individual who, by assessment of his or her peers, has contributed the most to the surveying profession as a whole over the past 5 years. Recipients are honored at the Annual LSAW Banquet.

2018 Kevin Carlascio
2016 John Besancon
2015 Karen Schauss
2014 Erica Morris
2013 Jennifer Smit
2012 Randy Spinharney
2011 Desi Schilling
2010 Victoria Thalacker
2009 Steven Reding
2008 Lorinda MacManiman
2007 Thomas A. Ginsburg
2006 Erin Dunbar
2005 Greg C. Brooks
2004 Jesse Thompson
2003 Karen Zollman
2002 Erin Dunbar
2001 Aaron B. Blaisdell
2000 Scott A. Dale
1999 Todd Pocock
1998 A. Clarice Clark
1997 Eric Gahringer
1996 Charles T. Newell
1995 David Gonsalves
1994 Tracie Luthi
1993 Matt Watne
1992 Leland Fischer
1991 Wilbur 'Bill' Epoch
1990 James Coan
1989 Robert Landon
1988 Walter O. Dale
1987 Dennis Wegenast
1986 Grant Heppenstall
1985 Warren Ferguson Jr.
1984 Edwin Hammond